Meet the Board

Arlynn McMahon

Arlynn McMahon

Arlynn McMahon, Chairman
2009 National CFI of the Year

Arlynn had the same instructor from student thru ATP.

She soloed on her 16th birthday, received her private pilot on her 17th birthday and missed her ATP on her 23rd birthday because of inclement weather.  In 2006 she married her flight instructor.

Today she is Chief Instructor at Aero-Tech, Inc., in Lexington, KY.  With 10,000 hours dual given, she holds CFIA/I.ME.  She is author of Train Like You Fly, Scenario Based Training for Flight Instructors and Lessons Plans to Train Like You Fly, published by ASA.

Gary Goodpaster, Chairman

Gary Goodpaster

Gary Goodpaster, Treasurer
1998 Regional (Great Lakes) AMT of the Year and the 2004 National AMT of the Year

Gary is an A&P/ IA, a FAA Designated Mechanic Examiner (DME), the Chief of Maintenance for The Kroger Co. Flight Department, and an A&P Instructor at Cincinnati State Technical & Community College.

He has earned the NBAA Certified Aviation Manager (CAM) certification, NCATT Aircraft Electronics Technician (AET rating), FCC General Radio Operator License (GROL) and an Amateur Extra License.

He has been the President of the PAMA CVG Chapter, a Director for the AMT Society, a FAASTeam Representative, the CVG FSDO Ambassador for Aircraft Electronics Association, a Challenger 300 Advisory Board Member, and a member of the Maintenance Director’s Roundtable.

Gary also received the Flight Safety Foundation’s Joe Chase Award in 2002.

Mike Busch

Mike Busch

Mike Busch, PR/Communications
2008 National AMT of the Year

Mike is arguably the best-known A&P/IA in general aviation.

He writes monthly articles for EAA Sport Aviation, AOPA Opinion Leaders Blog, and numerous aviation type club magazines.

He co-founded AVweb in 1995 and served as its editor-in-chief for nearly eight years.

He is CFIA/I/ME, and an aircraft owner for 45 years with 7,500+ hours, and is a FAASTeam representative. He’s CEO of Savvy Aircraft Maintenance Management, Inc.

Donald D. Streitenberger, Jr.

Donald D. Streitenberger, Jr.

Don D Streitenberger Jr, Treasurer
2015 National AMT of the Year

Don is Chief Inspector for The Kroger Co. at Cincinnati Lunken Airport. He holds a FAA certificate as a Repairman and an A&P/IA.Don has served on the board of directors of the Ohio Aircraft Technicians Society (OATS), which is the Cincinnati chapter of the Professional Aviation Maintenance Association (PAMA).

He has facilitated and taught numerous OATS-sponsored IA renewal seminars at Cincinnati State Technical College and for years has been deeply involved in helping to put on the annual Lunken Airport Days Aviation Career Fair. He has also been involved in the local Boy Scout Aviation Merit Badge program and been a FAASTeam member.Don is the recipient of seven FAA Maintenance Technician Award (six silver, one gold), the NBAA 24-Year Maintenance Technician Safety Award, and has received certificates of appreciation for his pro-bono work for the aviation maintenance community from PAMA/OATS/FAA every year since 2007.

Paul New

Paul New

Paul New, Airventure Coordinator
2007 National AMT of the Year

Paul soloed the day after his sixteenth birthday and received his private when he was 17. Soon after graduating Southern Illinois University with a degree in Avionics Technology he started and managed the avionics department for a commuter airline.

Today he is owner and CEO of Tennessee Aircraft Services, Inc, in Jackson, TN. Paul also provides technical support for the Cessna Pilots Association and writes a monthly column for their magazine. He holds private pilot with an instrument and multi-engine ratings. He also holds an A&P with IA and has been an FAA Designated Airworthiness Representative

JoAnn and Sandy Hill

JoAnn and Sandy Hill

JoAnn and Sandy Hill
Directors Emeriti

JoAnn and Sandy have been a couple for more than 50 years.  In that time they started an FBO & flight school, earned CFI certificates, founded the Master Instructor’s Program, and raised two children.

Their involvement in the GA Awards program began in 1998 when they both served as CFI of the Year judges. JoAnn served as National Chair of the GA Awards Committee from 2002 to 2013.  During her tenure JoAnn and Sandy made significant enhancements to the program including the installation of a Board of Directors.