General Aviation Awards To Be Presented at AirVenture ’13

Oshkosh, WI – Clear skies, fair winds, the sound of radial engines buzzing in the air, the look of awe on a child’s face as formations of aircraft fill the sky…it’s EAA’s AirVenture 2013, and this is where the winners of this year’s General Aviation Awards Program will be presented their awards.  In each of the past 50 years, the General Aviation Awards Program and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) have recognized a small group of aviation professionals in the fields of flight instruction, aviation maintenance, avionics and safety for the important role they play in aviation safety and education.

This awards program is a cooperative effort between the FAA and dozens industry sponsors.  Recipients of the 2013 National General Aviation Awards who will be recognized are William T. “Bill” Fifles of Honolulu, Hawaii – Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year; Bruce Allan Lundquist of Willis, Michigan- Avionics Technician (AVN Tech) of the Year; Dean Wesley Eichholz of Soldotna, Alaska- Certificated Flight Instructor (CFI) of the Year; and Master CFI Mark Edward Madden of Anchorage, Alaska- FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam Rep) Representative of the Year.  Nominations / applications for the 2014 awards are currently being accepted by FAA Safety Team managers at FSDOs everywhere.

The program relies upon the support of donors and sponsors to be successful. Generous financial sponsorship, gift donations, and support for the General Aviation Awards program is provided by industry organizations and anonymous donors.  Additional sponsorship and donations are always welcome.  Special thanks go to the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) for hosting the GA Awards program and other special GA Awards events during AirVenture.

To learn more about the General Aviation Awards program, visit its website at:

Financial sponsorship, gift donations, and support for the General Aviation Awards program is provided by the following:

Women in Aviation International (WAI), Universal Avionics Systems Corporation (UASC), Snap-On Tools (Snap-On), Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation (Sikorsky), The Society of Aviation and Flight Educators (SAFE), Ninety-Nines International (The 99s), the National Business Aviation Association (NBAA), the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO), National Aviation Safety Foundation (NASF), the National Air Transportation Association (NATA), Rod Machado, King Schools (King), Jeppesen – A Boeing Company (Jeppesen), Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation (Gulfstream), Gleim Publications (Gleim), the General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), Garmin International (Garmin), FAASTeam Associates LLC (FAASTeam), the Flight School Association of North America (FSANA), the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Duncan Aviation, David Clark Company, Cessna Aircraft Corporation (Cessna), Bose Corporation (Bose), the Aircraft Maintenance Technology Society (AMTSociety), Aircraft Electronics Association (AEA), the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA), the Aeronautical Repair Station Association (ARSA), Aviation Supplies & Academics (ASA), and Anonymous donors.

Additional program support is being provided by:  Advocates for Aviation Safety Foundation (AASF), FAASTeam Associates LLC, Glenna Blackwell Photography, Master Instructors LLC (MI LLC), Rich Stowell Consulting, and Virtual Accounting Services.